According to the directive, pressure equipment and assemblies above specified pressure and/or volume thresholds must:

  • be safe
  • meet essential safety requirements covering design, manufacture and testing
  • satisfy appropriate conformity assessment procedures
  • carry the CE mark and other information

Additional to the performance requirements, manufacturers are obliged to provide explicit instructions with equipment they sell, complete a specified declaration of conformity, as well as maintain a technical file of information about how the equipment was designed and manufactured.

To ensure that products put on the European market meet the requirements of the PED, it is essential to establish the PED classification.  Pressure equipment classification is based on the hazard presented by its application. Hazard is determined by the stored energy and the nature of the contained fluid. A manufacturer is obliged to classify the pressure equipment into one of four conformity assessment categories: Categories I to IV.

Assessment and conformity measures differ according to a category, starting from self-certification for the lowest hazard -category I, ending with the full quality management and notified body testing for category IV equipment.

Upon completion of the conformity assessment and if the equipment or assembly complies with the provision of the Pressure Equipment Directive, the manufacturer is required to affix the CE-marking to each item of pressure equipment or assembly and draw up a Declaration of Conformity.

For non-EU manufacturers: Appoint a European Authorized Representative established within the European Community.


The directive portrays European Law in forced within the European Economic Area (EEA); non-compliance with the directive’s requirements will result in the removal of the product from the market and the revoking of the CE marking affixed on the equipment.

Follow us:



in Pressure Equipment Directive